Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra

Tuesday, January 15    
$45 / $50



San Francisco’s Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra has been dedicated to historically-informed performance of Baroque, Classical and early-Romantic music on original instruments since its inception in 1981. Under Music Director Nicholas McGegan, Philharmonia Baroque has been named Ensemble of the Year by Musical America, and “an ensemble for early music as fine as any in the world today” by Los Angeles Times critic Alan Rich.

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Elizabeth Blumenstock, violin

Vivaldi’s beloved set of violin concerti known as The Four Seasons is perhaps the culmination of the middle Baroque period of Italian music, which embraced two parallel lineages in Northern Italy and Naples. Corelli was a pivotal figure, a virtuoso violinist whose influence on training in violin performance influenced all who came after him, especially his Northern Italian pupils Locatelli and Vivaldi. At the same time, another Italian music center in Naples produced composers such as Durante and his pupil Pergolesi, whose contributions ranged from sacred music to opera buffa.

CORELLI Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 7 in D major
PERGOLESI Sinfonia in F major
VIVALDI Violin Concertos, Op. 8, Nos. 1-4 The Four Seasons
Violin Concerto in E major, RV 269, La primavera (Spring)
Violin Concerto in G minor, RV 315, L’estate (Summer)
Violin Concerto in F major, RV 293, L’autunno (Autumn)
Violin Concerto in F minor, RV 297, L’inverno (Winter)
LOCATELLI Concerto Grosso Op. 7, No. 6 in E-flat major, Il pianto d’Arianna
DURANTE Concerto No. 5 in A major